Back to top

Jardin de Wiltz

COOPERATIONS is firmly rooted in the Jardin de Wiltz: this is where it all began. Back in 1983, the project Jardin de Wiltz was initiated, designed and realized by a group of artists from England, Luxembourg and Austria. One of them was Herbert Maly, the driving force behind the establishment of COOPERATIONS. At the time the artists’ collective was working on the development of innovative models for cultural work in public and social spaces. During the following years the garden was laid out and planted in collaboration with people with disabilities, unemployed people, temporary project teams and craftspeople.

What began in the early 1980s as an artistically inspired concept for a garden is still bearing plentiful fruit today. In 1990, a number of Wiltz residents and local organizations got together and founded COOPERATIONS, thus creating a legal and organizational basis for a multitude of artistic and social activities centred around the garden and designed to address a varied audience, and moreover providing a framework for the financing and further development of the Jardin de Wiltz.

On entering the Jardin de Wiltz you find yourself in the midst of an ensemble of artistically laid-out watercourses, generously proportioned terraced ponds and flower and plant beds, and stone fields, where you can watch the local “Hasselstein” rock change its colour with the weather. Water, plants and rock combine with carefully placed art objects to form a living work of art: the Jardin de Wiltz. Formerly the water catchment area of the Gruber brewery, the meticulously designed garden comprises some three hectares, with a maximum difference in elevation of 18 metres. And it is undergoing a process of constant transformation, as the plants are growing and the colours are changing with the seasons. New events and projects add to the spirit of this work-in-progress. On the occasion of the Nuit des Lampions, the garden is transformed into a sea of lights to become the perfect setting for artistic attractions. And throughout the warmer months various music and theatre events keep alive the special atmosphere of the garden.

The Jardin de Wiltz is situated on a plot of land owned by the municipality of Wiltz and is accessible free of charge all year round. The living work of art is tended to by a team of people with disabilities employed by COOPERATIONS, under the guidance of a professional gardener. All programmes initiated by COOPERATIONS are aimed at promoting the interrelations between art, social participation and rural development.

Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom  Jardin de Wiltz
Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom Jardin de Wiltz
Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom Jardin de Wiltz
Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom Jardin de Wiltz
Downloads
Info-Faltblatt Jardin De Wiltz
Contact

Anne-Marie Krettels

Programmation culture
anne-marie.krettels@cooperations.lu
prabbeli@cooperations.lu
cineprabbeli@cooperations.lu
brandbau@cooperations.lu
352 959205 - 75

8 Gruberbeerig L-9538 Wiltz

Back to top

Jardin de Wiltz

COOPERATIONS hat seine Wurzeln im Jardin de Wiltz – hier begann einfach alles. 1983 wurde das Projekt Jardin de Wiltz von Künstlern aus England, Luxemburg und Österreich initiiert, konzipiert und realisiert. Diesem Künstlerkollektiv gehörte auch Herbert Maly an, der COOPERATIONS aufgebaut hat. Das Künstlerkollektiv entwickelte damals neue Modelle kultureller Arbeit im öffentlichen und sozialen Raum. In den darauffolgenden Jahren legten sie den Garten gemeinsam mit behinderten und arbeitslosen Menschen, Teilnehmern an temporären Projekten und Handwerkern an.

Was in den frühen 80er Jahren als kunstvolle Gartenidee begann, bringt bis heute viele Früchte hervor. Das Engagement von Personen und Organisationen aus Wiltz führte 1990 zur Gründung von COOPERATIONS. Damit bekamen eine Vielzahl künstlerischer und sozialer Aktivitäten, die um den Garten entstanden und ganz unterschiedliche Menschen ansprechen, eine rechtliche und organisatorische Basis. Sie bietet auch dem Jardin de Wiltz einen Rahmen zur weiteren Entwicklung sowie für den Unterhalt der Anlage.

Wer den Jardin de Wiltz betritt, findet sich in einem Ensemble kunstvoll angelegter Wasserläufe, ausgiebiger Teich- und Pflanzenterrassen oder Steinfelder, die bei jedem Wetter dem örtlichen Hasselstein eine andere Färbung verleihen. Gemeinsam bilden sie mit vereinzelten Objekten das lebende Kunstwerk Jardin de Wiltz. Der aufwendig gestaltete Garten war das Wassereinzugsgebiet der ehemaligen Brauerei Gruber und erstreckt sich auf einer Fläche von ungefähr drei Hektar und weist einen maximalen Höhenunterschied von 18 Metern auf. Dieser Garten befindet sich im stetigen Wandel, bedingt durch die Jahreszeiten mit der jeweiligen Farbenpracht und das Wachstum der Pflanzen. Auch neue Gestaltungsprojekte unterstreichen den lebenden Charakter des Werkes. Anlässlich der Nuit des Lampions erscheint der Garten als Lichtermeer, bespielt mit künstlerischen Attraktionen. Auch Musik und Theater während der wärmeren Monate tragen im Jardin de Wiltz zu einer besonderen atmosphärischen Note bei.

Der Jardin de Wiltz liegt auf einem Grundstück der Gemeinde Wiltz und ist ganzjährig kostenfrei geöffnet. Unter der Leitung eines Gärtners sorgen entlohnte behinderte MitarbeiterInnen von COOPERATIONS für Unterhalt und Pflege des lebenden Kunstwerkes. Alle Programme von COOPERATIONS sind darauf ausgerichtet, die Wechselbeziehungen von Kunst, sozialer Partizipation und der Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums zu fördern.

Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom  Jardin de Wiltz
Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom Jardin de Wiltz
Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom Jardin de Wiltz
Herbert Maly/COOPERATIONS Asbl Foto vom Jardin de Wiltz
Downloads
Info-Faltblatt Jardin De Wiltz
Kontakt

Anne-Marie Krettels

Programmation culture
anne-marie.krettels@cooperations.lu
prabbeli@cooperations.lu
cineprabbeli@cooperations.lu
brandbau@cooperations.lu
352 959205 - 75

8 Gruberbeerig L-9538 Wiltz